The P.O. Box

a Christian opinion repository- place thoughts here

re-thinking

I have reread my first post and I am forced to ask myself, “Am I as sour of an individual as this presents me to be?”  I here see what might result when my brain talks through my hands apart from the consultation of my heart and soul.  I fear now that the first post  might default me into the category of those Christian bloggers who have “been burned,” or who have simply gotten angry over some matter and refuse to let it go.  I have resolved within myself that there is no benefit in being solely caustic.  I cannot allow this part of my life to be incongruous with the rest.  Why should this blog be wholly bereft of the grace which must conduct my life?  For this cause I feel compelled to clarify my intentions here.  I do wholeheartedly intend to have some fun (and make some fun) with this blog.  I do also intend to address (if even lightheartedly and cynically) some issues which are of concern to me.      I must let you know that for some years now I have been a watcher of the church and of Christianity, a keen observer of the nuances of this grand spectacle we call our faith.  There are things that make me angry, but is there not a cause?  I have watched church pastoral staff magnetically drawn to the “A-type” visitors on Sunday morning, while the meek and uncomely are relegated to the busy handshake of the assigned morning greeter. I have watched our elderly “saints,” those who have been there for decades who are now allowed the convenient complacency of their “Sunday best,” but void any interactive love.  And so I guess, because there is a cause, I will write.  I hope you will think and respond, and hopefully we can expose some of these matters and exlpore them honestly.      After the first post you have seen the potential rawness of my thoughts.  If you have given me a second chance, I thank you.  Let’s continue on and see where this takes us.  (I’m making puppy eyes right now to try to sway you)  I re-extend my invitation for your thoughts and ideas.  Let’s keep it honest; let’s keep it real.  Let’s not allow this to fall into the swamps of those blogs which benefit no one and only bury their writers. 

August 22, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment